Julian Alvarez’s Spotkick was controversially excluded in Atletico Madrid’s Shoot -out defeat against Real Madrid in the Champions League – but why wasn’t it allowed and broke the despair at all?
Alvarez became number two on Atletico’s list of penalties in their Champions League last-16-shoot-out after beating Byrivals Real 1-0 in the second stage to square draw 2-2 overall.
The Argentine stepped up from 12 yards, and despite the fact that he slid, his punishment crushed just below the cross bar past a helpless Thibault Courtois. More than a minute later, the kick was not allowed after a was -control that steered that he had touched the ball with both feet as he fell.
In IFAB’s 2024/25 Laws of the Game, by describing the procedure for a penalty, it is stated: “[A penalty] Kick is over when the ball stops moving, going out of the game, or the referee stops the game for any violation; The kicker may not play the ball a second time. “
In the end, this rule would prove to be crucial in shoot-out as Real progressed 4-2 on Spot kick, with Marcos Llorente and Lucas Vazquez both are also missing sanctions for both sides.
At the time Alvarez’s efforts were rejected, Real’s next Taker Federico Valverde had been waiting for his own attempt for some time when Judge Szymon Marciniak, who was the man in the middle of Man City’s Champions League -last win over Inter in 2023, pointed to both his own feet and crossed his arms to the signal that the former goal had been rejected.
Large sections of the support inside the Wanda Metropolitano Stadium seemed unaware that Alvarez’s effort had been rehabilized, while many of the broader views questioned whether it should have been rejected at all.
Atletico Madrid -Chef Diego Simeone refused to criticize Marciniak and his team of officials, but questioned whether there was decisive evidence that Alvarez had touched the ball twice -as a series of TV angles seemed to show that his standing leg may not have contacted it at all.
“I just saw the picture of the penalty,” he told his press conference after the match. “The referee said that when Julián stepped and kicked, he touched the ball with his foot, but the ball did not move. It was something to discuss whether it was a goal or not, but I am proud of my players.
“When he plants his foot and kicks, the ball does not even move a little. But if was called it, I have never seen a punishment called was, but it is still valid and they will have seen him touching it. I would think they have seen him touching it.”
He turned to journalists’ room directly and then added, “What did you see? Reach your hand if you think Julian knocked twice. I didn’t talk to him.”
There was no obvious sign of starting with Marciniak being told by Hans was about a running check, and after the game, real goalkeeper Courtois admitted that he had pointed out to the referee that he felt Alvarez had committed the offense – which might have been what led to the check.
“I felt he was touching the ball twice, and I said to the referee,” he said. “It’s not easy to see it. It was a bit of aflak for them there.”